so 我们 get high~

It’s been a while since my last blog entry hasn’t it? Title of today’s post is the title of a song from super long ago. Just randomly popped up in my head while I read news about a possible programming module in SG secondary schools curriculum :O

Now that we are settled into uni life, I am starting to feel the transition from high school mode to uni mode. I mean, who wouldn’t realise the importance of independent learning when the lecturers start conducting lessons at twice the speed of what they had in last term? (52 powerpoint slides in 45 minutes is really no joke, for some scale of magnitude.)  I really like the modules for this term, though the sudden increase in new information to learn could get a bit overwhelming at times. And with increased commitments at choir and major event, I find myself sleeping at 1.30 or 2am almost everyday… tiring, though the rigour somewhat resembles my hectic JC life. Brings back memories really.

Thus I am starting to think about what it really means to be a university student. Good thing is I have the freedom of reflecting on this problem without fear of an identity/interest crisis because regardless of what I do for a degree, it would have no direct relation whatsoever to my career. This also means I had chosen my current course totally out of interest.  Sometimes I wonder how I had filtered myself down to my current choice. What would have happened if I chose, say, physics instead? Or psychology? Or law? Or maybe another field in engineering, like aerospace engineering? Now that I’m in an environment that demands more self-control on time management and self-learning, I am getting exposed to the fact that there’re just so many things you can study about; it is thus really up to us to decide what we want to learn and why.

And then the part that students dread the most – exams/assessments. The argument of whether exam marks are an accurate representation of a student’s subject mastery is still ongoing, and probably won’t stop any time in the short term… while I understand exams are by far the best way to ensure a fair and efficient way of assessing a class of students in the same course and exposed to the same class content/teaching styles, I do think formal assessments sometimes reduce education to a race – a far cry from its ideal state of allowing students to learn out of real interest, without fear. What I have been doing all these years is thus to 1) put in 100% effort in everything I do, and leave it as that state; and 2) try to see what enlightens me from everything I learn. My personal opinion is that intellectual rigor involves the knowledge that learning should never, ever be restricted to what is already given to you as course material, and it is up to you to determine how much you want to learn beyond your assignments.

Phew that was quite a bit o words 😛 I more or less lost my GP skills already so please don’t fault me for logical gaps in my arguments >< They are not arguments to begin with, just heartfelt words expressed in very limited vocabulary hahah 😛

Chinese new year will be here in 3 days time! And so began my series of CNY activities in what is my first time celebrating CNY overseas. Decided to take a leap of faith and organise a dinner for coursemates who celebrate CNY as well. (Unfortunately I was unable to invite everyone in time, and I am very sorry indeed to those whom I missed out for this outing 😦 ) Organisational wise it could probably have been better, but in terms of food and atmosphere it was good 🙂 So that was my first time initiating an activity in London! It was fun really 🙂 Totally looking forward to hall gathering and steamboat with old friends now!

1.58am haha I should sleep. Till the next time then! I will try to blog on CNY 🙂

Leave a Reply

