matter | antimatter

One week into the new term and I’ve gotten the rhythm back, which is a good thing πŸ™‚ Especially when putting my autumn and spring term timetables side by side can give me a shock because the spring one seems so much more crammed. This term will definitely be a busier and more tiring term, so I cross my fingers and hope that I can take everything in my own stride.

For many of my friends whom I met in BMT/CLM/AFST, yesterday was a special day for them… it was the moment they rounded up their cadet days and became true blue officers, ready to take on important leadership duties and fulfill their calling in the respective services. Around this time five months ago I was in uniform, clasping onto the very same sword my buddies and comrades proudly paraded with at their commissioning – except that I was standing on the stage, not on the parade square. Β The surge of emotions from getting commissioned in a parade is something I will never experience, and for that I had a sense of emptiness deep inside me somewhere, while being happy for my friends who are now fellow officers.

Yet, I know that at the end of the day, it’s the duty we have picked up on our shoulders that matters the most, regardless of whether we were commissioned on the parade square, the stage or even in the air (as what my pilot friends will be). And for us regulars, it’s the duty we haveΒ chosen to pick up. It is what keeps me focused on what I am ultimately devoting myself to when I get lost and disenchanted as a student overseas, and one of the many factors that keep the link between me and my home country strong. (And I can’t help but respond to the ‘not proud to be Singaporean’ video that went viral on social media recently – I love Singapore and I am proud to be Singaporean, for reasons that can’t exactly be put into explicable words.)

The out-for-a-walk weekends in London are back! πŸ˜€ Today I was at Greenwich with a great friend of mine from JC, mainly to see the Prime Meridian. To be downright honest the slightly more rational side of me was wondering why I paid 5 pounds to see a line on the ground πŸ˜› (According to a staff member it used to be free…) But then again, hey this is the line that divides east and west; the very line that gave rise to so many cultural differences across the eastern and western countries, caused so many problems yet created so many opportunities of collaboration. Being able to set foot across this line was indeed an experience worth the while. πŸ™‚

IMG_2083the must-do pose at the Prime Meridian

The title for this post came from a random discussion I had with my friend. It’s nice to bring myself back to those days when we talked geeky and felt like it’s a perfectly normal part of life; and the topics always came about randomly. (Seriously who in conscious thought would talk about astrology -> memory spans of animals -> whether animals can suffer heart attacks -> matter vs antimatter -> what antiwater would look like?) The in-built curiosity and unabashed attitude in discussing topics of interest… I guess that’s one of my greatest takeaways from HCSMTP πŸ™‚ Which also reminds me that we were wondering why humans are so curious in finding out if there are extraterrestrial life forms, intelligent beings like that live on a parallel universe some millions of light years aways…

Some questions are just unanswered as of now yeah? We are alone in this world… or are we? I do hope that one day, any day, someone would be able to find an answer to that, preferably while the Solar System is still existing HAHA.

IMG_2084on the other side of the world; you are not alone.

Leave a Reply

